Supervisory authorities

CNRS CEA Université de Bordeaux

Our partners


Home > Headline News

Winners of Prize Edouard Fabre 2017

published on

The prize “Edouard Fabre 2017” for contributions to the physics of laser-driven inertial confinement fusion and laser-produced plasmas has been awarded to Alexis Casner and Félicie Albert.

For the fourth time, the COST Action MP1208 “Developing the physics and the scientific community for Inertial Confinement Fusion” has promoted the Prize entitled to the memory of Edouard Fabre, in collaboration with ILP, Institut Lasers et Plasmas in France. The Prize is especially addressed to researchers in full activity, within about 15 years after obtaining their Ph.D.
The co-chairs of the International Conference on Inertial Fusion Sciences and Applications (IFSA) having decided to endorse it, the 4th Edouard Fabre prize will be awarded at the 10th edition of this conference, to be held in Saint Malo (France – 11-15 September 2017).
In future years, the Prize Fabre will be held on a biannual basis, in association with IFSA. The prize will be chosen by an international selection committee comprised of the chair of the COST MP1208 action, 6 members nominated by the IFSA co-chairs (2 from Europe, 2 from Asia and 2 from America) and the last 2 winners. The committee members are not eligible for the prize.

Past winners of the Fabre prize are: (historical order): 2014: Gianluca Gregori (Univ. Oxford) & Stéphane Sebban (LOA), 2015: Pierre Michel (LLNL), 2016: Jérôme Faure (LOA)

Dr. Félicie Albert is a scientist the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA, which she joined as a postdoctoral researcher in 2008, and as a staff scientist in 2010 in the National Ignition Facility (NIF) and Photon Science directorate. She earned her PhD in physics in 2007 from the Ecole Polytechnique in France, her MS in Optics from the University of Central Florida in 2004, and her BS in engineering from the Ecole Nationale Supérieure de Physique de Marseille, France, in 2003. Dr. Albert’s areas of interest include the generation of novel sources of electrons, x-rays and gamma-rays through laser-plasma interaction, laser-wakefield acceleration, and Compton scattering. She has conducted many experiments using high-intensity lasers, including NIF, LLNL’s Jupiter Laser Facility, OMEGA-EP, and Stanford’s Linac Coherent Light Source x-ray free electron laser. She is the recipient of a 2016 U.S. Department of Energy Early Career Research Program Award, and has been leading several Laboratory Directed Research and Development Projects at LLNL. She is also the recipient of the 2017 Katherine E. Weimer award from the American Physical Society for outstanding achievements in plasma science research, and was selected by the APS as an outstanding referee in 2015.

Félicie ALBERT

Alexis CASNER is Research Director at CEA and currently Deputy Director of the Centre Lasers Intenses et Applications (CELIA) laboratory at the University of Bordeaux. He has been involved as Principal Investigator (PI) on NIF and OMEGA experiments since 14 years. His main expertise is in the field of Inertial Confinement Fusion and in particular in hydrodynamic instabilities and x-ray imaging diagnostics. He has performed indirect-drive experimental campaigns relevant for the evolution and stabilization of the ablative Rayleigh-Taylor instability in ICF targets on the OMEGA laser. His main research interests is the study of the highly nonlinear stage of the ablative RTI, with 3 accepted NIF Discovery Science proposals since 2011. He is the PI of the TurboHEDP (Turbulent Hydrodynamics Experiments in High Energy Density Plasmas) project funded in 2015 by French Agence Nationale de la Recherche (ANR), whose purpose is to shed light in the laboratory on turbulent HED plasmas conditions relevant for astrophysics. His journey in ICF also includes optimized capsule implosions in rugby hohlraums and shock ignition experiments. He served in the Executive Committee of the NIF User Group from 2012 to 2016, and was elected in 2017 non-US researcher representative at Omega Laser User Group.

Edouard Fabre has been one of the fathers of ICF studies in Europe, and a promoter of the direct-drive approach to Inertial Fusion for the Future Production of Energy. He began to work on CO2 and ruby laser, later moving to Nd:glass. In the 70’s he gathered the French laser and plasma scientists to work on ICF and related physics in a research group (GRECO), which was at the basis of future developments in the fields. In 1988 he founded LULI (Laboratoire pour l’Utilisation des Lasers Intenses), which has played a leading role in Europe in civilian academic research in ICF and HED science. The 6-beam laser facility at LULI allowed to perform academic implosion experiments all over the 80’s. At the beginning of the decade, he and his collaborators showed that using short-wavelength lasers one could increase absorption, reduce the impact of parametric instabilities, minimize hot electron production and optimize hydrodynamic efficiency. This has opened the way to using short wavelength lasers for implosion experiments, which is nowadays the standard approach to compressing ICF targets.

The COST Action MP1208 aims at developing a scientific community in Europe working in Inertial Confinement Fusion and High Energy Density Physics. The Action is complementary and synergic to several initiatives going on in Europe, in particular the Academic Opening of the Laser Megajoule and Petal in France (LMJ/PETAL facility).

Edouard FABRE

More info at:

Countries participating to MP1208 Action: France (proposer) Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Lithuania, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom